Corey C. Griffin Scholarship


The Yellowstone Club Community Foundation is honored to award the Corey C. Griffin Scholarship. These two $5,000 scholarships are available to high school seniors in southwest Montana.

Corey lost his life in 2014 at the age of 27 in a tragic diving accident in Nantucket, MA. Montana was a special place for Corey, not only for the majestic beauty of the mountains, but also the magic of the night skies. He enjoyed the opportunity to explore and challenge himself with the variety of outdoor activities that are abundant here in Montana. Most of all, Corey enjoyed Montana as it represented a place where time stopped and life was solely for sharing Montana’s gifts with friends and family.

In Corey’s eyes, the sky was the limit in terms of how he viewed possibility and challenge. He touched the lives of more people in his 27 years than most do in a lifetime. Corey was remarkable and truly unique in his beliefs and impact.

Award: Two $5,000 scholarships paid directly to recipients’ enrolled post-secondary programs

Candidates: High school seniors attending Lone Peak High School, Bozeman High School, Bridger Alternative Program, Belgrade High School, Gallatin Valley private schools, or equivalent homeschool programs

Applicant criteria: The scholarships are awarded to the two applicants who most closely exemplify Corey’s “never quit” attitude, his passionate support and leadership for causes in which he believed, and his philosophy, put simply: finding good in others, lending a helping hand for those in need, and having the courage to create change. This is not a need-based scholarship

Application process: Application is by referral only. Interested students should speak to their school counselor, ideally before November 30, 2017

Application deadline: January 15, 2018

Review process: Candidates will be invited to interview in mid-February

Notification: March 1, 2018

Note: Counselors, please contact Anna Shipley at if you have a candidate to refer

Note: Children of Yellowstone Club employees at the Director level and above are not eligible to apply